Friday, 10 February 2006

World Press Photo Awards

Finbarr O'Reilly wins the World Press Photo of the Year Award 2005. The twelve photos posted on the BBC News website reflect a very grim year: disasters, brutality and starvation. Powerful images, not for the squeamish. Only one finalist managed to capture an uplifting image of ethereal beauty: Donald Miralle Jr's prize-winning underwater shot of Aaron Peirsol. The image that haunts me is that of a little boy helping his handless father to dress...


Post a Comment

<< Home